Tom's 35th Annual Oscar Contest
March 4, 2018

First Place Prize: Christopher Null (125 points, 1st ballot)
Second Place Prize: Rebecca Willingham (125 points, 2nd ballot)
Booby Prize: Leslie Mizell (0 points, tie)
Last Place (tie): Computer Booby (0 points, ineligible)

Contest Summary

Christopher Null won this year's contest at the last minute by choosing The Shape of Water for Best Picture, which leapfrogged him over the previous leader, Denny Atkin, who chose Get Out. Christopher finished with 125 points (out of 132 possible).

This is Christopher's fourth win. His first victory came in 1998, followed by first-place finishes in 2005 (in a three-way tie) and 2014. He also finished second in 1999, 2000, and 2016. Read his acceptance speech.

Rebecca Willingham tied Christopher's high score but finished in Second Place because she submitted her ballot two weeks later. Rebecca won First Place in 2015. Read her acceptance speech.

Leslie Mizell won the last-place Booby Prize by scoring a perfectly wrong zero points. She tied the Computer Booby artificial contestant, which is ineligible to win the prize. Leslie has won the Booby Prize 17 times since 1989 (some years were ties). She has also won First Place three times. Read her acceptance speech.

  • Check the real-time scoreboard that was continually updated during the Academy Awards show on TV. Tom's OscarCalc program automatically calculates the scores after each Oscar is presented, then posts the results online within seconds. You can also view any contestant's ballot.

  • See the Oscar predictions made by OscarCalc, the world-famous program behind Tom's Oscar Contest. Each year, in addition to automatically tabulating the scores, OscarCalc predicts with uncanny accuracy who will win an Oscar in each award category. (These predictions form the basis of the computer-generated virtual contestants.) This year, OscarCalc correctly predicted the winners in 20 of 24 Oscar categories (83%), beating all but five human contestants.

  • See the final scores from last year's contest. The winner was Todd Heimarck.

  • Visit the Hall of Fame for Tom's Oscar Contest. You can see the names of all winners from 1989 to 2018. (Sorry, earlier years are not available.)

Return to Tom's home page